top of page

The beginning

So I thought my first official blog post will be about how all this started Mayra's Photography

I am a stay at home mom, mother of two boys, after I had my first son in 2011 I decide not to go back to work, it just didn't feel right leaving my little one, I really want a baby our first attempt when we finally decided to have kids 2 years after getting married, it was a miscarriage so when I finally did have my baby I did not want to leave him.

with my oldest I did a lot of "professional" in studio photography sessions

that were very expensive and so basic. so when I became pregnant with my second son I wanted something different and outdoors "cuter" I did look around for photographers but some never responded to my messages and others were not what I was looking for I'm a little bossy and controlling you literally have to do what I say (I'm working on it ) so non of the people I talk to about doing my photo session convinced me Thant's when I thought to my self " I can do it" and started attempting to photographing the boys by my self and fail at the time of printing phone photos or my little camera photos they would print out blurry and dark and I couldn't get nothing larger than a 4x6 (good thing I didn't give up hu?)

so in the process of working it out I came across one of my Facebook friends who had done just exactly what I wanted to do take outdoor family photos so I asked Glenda, who did her photos? and she kindly introduced me to Alejandra (thank you both from the bottom of my heart) she did our first family of four outdoor photography session (just what I wanted)and I fell in love with the photos they were our first family photos after having my Bean and I was so excited and in love with the photos.( they are still hanging on my walls even though I take my kids photos every month, her photos are still my favorite)

She did tell me that she was not a professional but she just love taking pictures and ours were just I believe the best, I love them so much so that gave me an idea, she's not a professional and she could do it.

I tried but failed what if I researched this A LOT ???

And so I did I love Pinterest and so I started looking up photography articles, photography tutorials how to photograph children's, photography equipment but as you all know photography equipment is so expensive so I literally just started with the basics which are natural light using my phone and a small little Sony camera that my husband had given me just try to really do my best with what I had I did my children's photos and made invitations with them , Christmas cards, calendars ect.. and people love them (by people I mean mom, dad, in-laws, siblings)everybody love the idea because as you all know I love props so I would make little inexpensive setups and take my kids picture print it out and give it out to family and friends at the time they were very unprofessional but they were very cute because of course anything with your kids on it is so beautiful and you just love it

then my husband started to encourage me if that's what you want to do go ahead and do it figure it out and pursue it, at the time I was just a stay at home mom with my two little baby's I had time on my hands to research and read

I am not a gadget person but my husband he is so he research a 'beginner's" photography camera that would be nice and affordable for me to start with.

I didn't think of making it a "business" because the main idea was me having photos of my children and catalog in their growth, my then goal and inspiration was to take beautiful pictures of my children, nieces and nephew and so during all this time me getting the camera, researching photography tutorials my nephew's birthday was coming up January 2014 he's theme was going to be a fishing theme 2 years party and we did photos to display that day of the party

like I had done for my kids

We Gather props (because as you all must have figured out by now I LOVE PROPS/PROPS ARE LIFE)we as in my mom, sister and sister-in-law gathered ideas went out to our favorite Park in the Little Pond area and we took pictures

people were dying over those pictures, I received so many compliments everybody was like

oh my God are you a professional? and I was like no but I can take your picture if you want.

I was so happy with the compliments and everything that I was hearing that people love my pictures

I felt encouraged to make a Instagram page and start advertising

M Photography my beginning works has the logo M photography

I did a lot of free work at the beginning of course because I had no experience and honestly no idea I only had dealt with my kids and family

my first year was mostly learning how to use my camera, learning basics and photographing my kids, I did a few sessions and people were grateful and liked what I had done for them

I did follow other photographers in Facebook and Instagram and try to reach out to them but till these day I'm still waiting for a response

in 2016 I took a photographers workshop in person with a wedding photographer and I felt encourage because she liked my work

one thing that stuck on my head from the workshop was that she told us " photography is a extension of you, there is no right way or wrong way to do photography, there is techniques, and ways but photography is whatever you want to make of it' so me right there and then absolutely lost any doubts I had in my work

because MY PHOTOGRAPHY is mine, my way, my technique, my work, and I work for those that choose to give me the opportunity and time to capture their special memories and milestones

so here we are going on 5 years hope to work harder and get better and meet you soon and stay In touch with my already awesome return clients some who have stuck with me through my growth

THANK YOU

1st official blog post hope is understandable thank you for readying

My first attempts at photography

our first family of 4 photo session By Alejandra

the photos that encourage me to pursue photography

bottom of page